• wyvhinds

Award for Social Justice Work and Advocacy

Maryknoll Lay Missioners have created the Bishop McCarthy Spirit of Mission Award to honor lay missioners “who exemplify an outstanding dedication to the spirit of mission after their return to the United States from their overseas mission commitments.”

The award is named for the late Bishop John E. McCarthy, who headed the Diocese of Austin, Texas, from 1986 until he retired in 2001. Known for his social justice and advocacy work, he provided national leadership for the church in its work to address systemic poverty.

0 views0 comments